Excerpts

The most Honorable Elijah Muhammad cherished the time he had with his wife, Sister Clara. There was a small breakfast nook off from the kitchen. Hear the Messenger would have coffee every morning with his wife. He did not want to be disturbed while he was with his wife, and he meant it.

He would tell my mother, “when I am in here with my wife, and anyone wants to get in here to see me, you tell them that I said not to disturb me, even if it is my dead father that got out of his grave and wants to see me.” “You tell him that I said I am in here with my wife, and I do not want to be disturbed.”

messenger_elijah_muhammad

In the early sixties, Allah bestowed a great blessing to me by being able to serve at the dinner table of the Most Honorable Elijah Muhammad and his guests. A great honor for me, at the time I was eleven years old. My mother became one of the Honorable Elijah Muhammad’s cooks. One of her dear friends by the name of Sister Kathleen who was one of the Messenger’s cooks, told my mother, “the Messenger is looking for another cook why don’t you apply.”

My mother then said, “if he wants someone who cannot cook, tell him to hire me.”  Sister Kathleen went back and told the Messenger what my mother had said.  My mother had no idea that the Sister had given her name….

 

Leave a comment